IIMA – for Leaders, not just Managers

Its been a wonderful MBA experience here at IIMA. If there is one thing  that stands out for me here, its the professor commitment to our  development. I have not been at other schools but here I am amazed  everyday by the commitment from my teachers. There is of course the famed quality of teaching and the academic rigor, insomnia is now a skill of mine ;-). I did expect the program to be rigorous and I did know that there would be sleepless nights but I did not know that my professors would lead by example when it comes to sheer hard work. I did not know that when they say that professors are approachable they mean 24/7 and for anything and everything.

I did expect to master finance, marketing et al, I did not expect to learn creativity, human behavior, psychology or neuro physiology. I did expect to be equipped to be a great manager, I did not expect to be equipped to be a great human being. I did expect to work late nights, I did not expect to be in class late at night. I did expect that professors would step forward to teach me any particular aspect of a subject, I did not expect that professors would step forward to teach me any subject. I did expect to be in awe of the faculty, I did not expect freinds, philosophers and guides rolled in one.

Here in Europe for my internships, I hear a lot about the shifting reason for organizational existence, from the shareholder perspective to the stakeholder perspective. I realize that it is going to need as much heart as brain. More technically, it is going to need both halves of our brains.

I am happy that my professors have already got me on that path. Probably the most important part of my MBA here has been the food for the heart. When on day one the dean mentioned that we are not a business school but a school of management, I did not probably understand the underpinnings of that message. I could try and explain but you really have to be here at IIMA to understand.

– Subramaniam Vaidyanathan

2 Replies to “IIMA – for Leaders, not just Managers”

  1. I think you are following the example set by IIMA profs, going by the help you’ve extended to PGPX-IV students through the very informative conference call. Thanks a lot

Leave a Reply

